Foodie Friday: Marathon Weekend

Standard

My friend and client Sharon who was in town for the race, is also a blogger. She describes her blog

as silly, sexy, spiritual, serious, sarcastic and sweet. Surely there’s something here for you…grab a cup of coffee and stay awhile.

Even though we have a big gap in our ages, she is a young spirit and has a lot of wisdom in her words. I often find myself completely relating to her through her poignant honesty, or laughing out loud to her matter-of-fact humor. She wrote about the food we ate during marathon weekend better than I could have, and I wanted to share it with y’all!

Midlife Moments

One of the benefits of running for a hobby is that it burns calories. Thankfully, I love a lot of things about running, so the calorie burn is just an extra benefit. I don’t think I could stay motivated if it was the ONLY reason I ran. I probably burn somewhere between 2500 and 3000 calories in a 2 1/2 hour marathon. Now, before you get too excited, keep in mind that I probably eat a little more to fuel for this event. So, I’d say that I have an extra 2000 calories to play with over my regular daily allotment of calories to maintain my weight. You have to remember that not many of the runs are that long. That’s the one race of that distance in a 10 week period. For a long time, I thought that, if I ran marathons, I could eat what I wanted. But…

View original post 1,060 more words

Leave a Reply

