Foodie Friday: Auntie Em’s Oatmeal Waffles

Standard

Happy Friday  y’all!  I took my time getting up this morning because it’s the last Friday before the new semester starts, which means the last time for a while I can take my time getting out of bed.  I couldn’t stay too long though because I wanted to run 8 miles today.  I laced up and was out the door by 10:30, in mid-50s temperatures.  It was absolutely beautiful (almost like the weather’s done a 180 degree turn here.  I can’t believe just two days ago it was raining so much that water was dripping into a pot in my bedroom!) today and although I struggled a bit in the last three miles (uphill and now it’s in the upper 60s), I was still glad to be out there.  The adductors are behaving quite nicely, not giving me any pain but not letting me push too hard either.

I got home dripping in sweat and missing Mexico and my hosts.  I was craving one of my favorite breakfasts that Emilie made – oatmeal waffles.  I loved them so much, and love y’all so much that I wanted to share her recipe with you!

My Lovely Hosts!

My Lovely Hosts!

Auntie Em’s Oatmeal Waffles

1 1/2 C flour
1 C oatmeal
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (never enough for me so I add a lot more)
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 eggs, slightly beaten
1 1/2 C milk
6 tablespoon butter, melted
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 generous cup LOVE!!!

In a large bowl mix all the dry ingredients,  In a small mixing bowl
stir together eggs, milk, butter and brown sugar.  Add to flour
mixture; stir until blended.  Add Love (lots of it!!).

Pour into preheated waffle iron and bake until done.

Add in frozen fruit if you want!  She put blueberries in mine 🙂

Delicious post-run recovery!

Delicious post-run recovery!

Love the blueberries

Love the blueberries

Just like pancakes, waffles are a delicious post-run recovery food.  I’m going to play around with the recipe a little and see how it tastes with whole wheat flour but honestly, as long as you don’t go overboard on the serving size or syrup, there’s nothing too unhealthy about these!  So whip ’em up and enjoy!

 

2 responses »

  1. Love the pic of you guys. The waffles look awesome, too. I’d have to smother them in maple syrup, though….a hypoglycemic’s nightmare.

Leave a Reply

