Oh, Mexico….

Standard

Well, I’m still here.  I was scheduled to go back to Austin on Thursday but due to an emergency with my passport (details later), I missed my flight, had to order a temporary one and am waiting for it to be delivered to my aunt’s condo.  So, as much as I was looking forward to some time in Austin to play around without classes, and celebrate New Years with my friends, Mazatlan is not a bad place to be stranded for a few extra days (as long as you have loving family to take you in, which luckily I do!).

These four extra days could be absolutely detrimental to my training schedule though.  I didn’t get much running in last week because of my adductor/groin strain and pain and was eager to get back to the Lady Bird Lake Trail to get some miles back in.  Back to a familiar routine you know?  But that’s not happening until next Wednesday.  After we re-booked my flight, I had a little mental chat with myself.

Jess, these next few days in paradise cannot be the lazy (but I was resting my leg!), indulgent sugar buffet (but Emilie’s baking is SO good!) that they have been for the beginning of the trip.  You’ve got to eat regular, healthy meals and move your body once a day.  You should have been doing this the whole trip but I was lenient with you because of your injury.  Time to kick your own ass!

And so, after the whole fiasco was sorted out Thursday afternoon, I was ready for a run.  Those kind of stressful situations make me antsy and I think everyone could tell I needed to let off some steam as I paced back and forth in the kitchen and started doing yoga poses while we waited for my ticket to be re-booked.  That afternoon I managed a very slow 3 miles on the treadmill with no pain in my adductors (win!).  I did some lunging afterwards and my legs are still sore today.  Yesterday I found some courage and ventured outside to run along the streets of my aunt’s neighborhood for an easy 5 mile trot.

Healthy Breakfast on the Balcony

Healthy Breakfast on the Balcony

Now I’m sitting on the balcony with my breakfast of half a Wolferman’s Cinnamon Raisin English Muffin (they’ve recently become a holiday tradition), topped with crunchy peanut butter and sliced bananas, with a side of fresh-squeezed grapefruit juice.  Today I was supposed to try 15 miles (probably on the treadmill) but my legs are still sore to touch and I would like to be able to continue walking on the beach so I will do it tomorrow.  It has to get done tomorrow, not matter how sore my legs are or I am seriously screwing with my chances to have an enjoyable marathon experience in February.

I’ve never attempted 15 miles on a treadmill, in fact I think the farthest I’ve ever gone is 5.  But I’m hoping to set up a little hydration station right next to me, and have my laptop in front with a movie playing to help pass the time.  Would you pick The Lucky One or Magic Mike?

The Lucky One

Or Magic Mike?

 

 

3 responses »

  1. Hmm, that’s a tough one. I personally liked The Lucky One better. I’m more of a Zac Efron fan and I like romances. Magic Mike wasn’t as great as I thought it would be, but it’s probably easier to pay attention to and more upbeat for a run. Good luck on your 15 mile treadmill run! Long runs on the treadmill are tough!

  2. Pingback: Adios 2012 « RUNMEM

Leave a Reply

