Celebrate my 1,000 miles with me!

Standard

On Tuesday of this past week, I hit 1,000 miles running for the year!  I set that goal 343 days before achieving it, on New Years Day 2012.  It seems a daunting goal but really the only things you need are determination, consistency and commitment (and a few pairs of running shoes…).  All things that come from within you.  It was certainly not a goal I could cram in the last 3 months of the year so required my commitment to running to last throughout the year.  Through the cold months of January and February.  The rainy season of March and April.  Moving month of May.  Summer school in June and July.  Moving again in August and the heat and humidity of Texas.  School in September and socializing in October.  The holidays of November and December.  Bad runs, good runs, injuries, fatigue, sweat, intervals, skipped runs, Mississippi, Oklahoma, California, Tennessee, Indiana, Illinois, Texas, Mexico.  .25 miles to 15 miles.

So what now?  I was hoping to take the rest of the year off but then I remembered this big looming task of running 26.2 miles in the February Austin Livestrong Marathon.  Two years ago, after a horrible second marathon experience in Memphis, I swore I would never run another one.  I was defeated.  Slowly, as time passed, “never” turned to “one more” – you can’t end a marathon career on a bad experience.  I took some time to focus on half marathons and speed, running my half marathon PR at last year’s St. Jude Half Marathon, also in Memphis.

I’m currently located in Austin, Texas, working on a Sports Science and Nutrition masters at UT.  “One more” turned into “am currently training for” just a few weeks ago when several classmates put some pressure on to run the Austin Full Marathon in February.  But if I’m gonna do it, I’m gonna do it for a good cause.

In the past I’ve always supported St. Jude, my then hometown children’s research hospital.  This time around I’d like to support a new cause, in the heart of the city I currently live.

LIVESTRONG serves people affected by cancer and empowers them to take action against this disease that is now the world’s leading cause of death. LIVESTRONG has become a symbol of hope and inspiration to people affected by cancer around the world.

Support LiveSTRONG with me!

The money I raise will go to support programs and services, which inspire and empower people affected by cancer. If you or someone you know is diagnosed, these resources will help face the challenges of cancer, head on, and live life on your own terms. LIVESTRONG.org/GetHelp

I’ll be celebrating today by cashing in a birthday gift certificate on a much needed massage this afternoon.  You can celebrate my accomplishment this year with me today by donating a small amount to this champion cause.  Click here for my fundraising page.  My goal is to raise $500 for the charity.  You’ll be supporting my continued training (and trust me, I need all the help I can get, the hills here are brutal) and those affected by cancer. I know we all have been.  Thank you!!

9 responses »

    • Have you done the Austin Full before (you don’t have to answer, I’ll go look it up now)? I did the half last year and the hills weren’t too bad until the very last mile. Cruel race director.

      • I did the half in 2011 and yes, that last climb after the bridge was the worst. The course was so-so but the city is so fun that I wouldn’t mind returning for the full beast.

  1. Congrats on hitting 1,000 miles! I’m trying to get there by Christmas.

    How’s your marathon training going through the darkest time of the year? I’m running one in April and just started my program. I really don’t like running on a treadmill, but running in the dark with a flashlight on my head is starting to get old, too.

  2. Pingback: Adios 2012 « RUNMEM

  3. Pingback: Girl Talk: 1000 Miles in 2013….Join me! « Midlife Moments

Leave a Reply

