Oversleepin’ Taco Tunesday

Standard

So I had big plans to get up this morning for the Taco Run.  Set my phone on the charger in the bathroom to make sure I didn’t turn off the alarm and roll over in bed.  Went to bed with a plan for cold-weather gear and even dreamt of tacos.

Then I woke up at 5:58…..I had two missed text messages from people I was supposed to meet….I texted them to say I missed the alarm (turns out I had it set for 6:15 instead of 5:15…) and then went back to bed for another hour.

New Plan….

I decided before I rolled back over for some extra ZZZZs that I would go immediately after class was out to run the route anyway.  I had to re-plan my breakfast since tacos were no longer a free option and I would need fuel for the run.  Normally if it’s the very first thing I do (within 30 minutes of waking), I won’t eat.  But I was going to be up for 3 hours before I got started so I packed breakfast to go:

  • 1/2 cup old fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup frozen strawberries/blueberries
  • 1/2 cup almond milk

By the time I got to campus, the oats had soaked up most of the milk and the fruit was sort of slushie.  Weird textures and definitely not my favorite but they got the job done!  After an exciting class on glomerular filtration rate, I was looking forward to some time in the crisp air.

Taco Run

I opted for running the route backwards just to change things up a bit and somehow ended up with only 7 miles instead of 7.25.  I ran at a “cruisin” pace, as J from work likes to call it, and felt much better after a tanked run on Sunday.  My average pace was 8:03 – right on target for a PR 🙂

We’ll just have to see if I can keep it up for 6 more miles.  The morning after a Grizzlies game.  Just 17 days to go!

Tunesday

Today I chose a song that I’ve been jammin’ to on the radio a little bit.  I’ve never listened to the words really until I looked the lyrics up just now but it’s a fun song.  A good mood rolls right along with it.

One Republic.  Feel Again.

Sleep tight y’all – tough workout comin’ for you tomorrow!

2 responses »

  1. 23 degrees here…good coffee weather!…but, I layered up and got the guys running instead….felt good and we were steaming when done. Glad your Taco Run was an improvement from Sunday and on pace!

  2. Pingback: Chicken, Quinoa and Veggie Soup « RUNMEM

Leave a Reply

