Adventures at Work: Karaoke Run

Standard

Happy Halloween!  But even more importantly HAPPY GRIZZLIES OPENING DAY!  Tonight the boys tip off against LA and although I won’t be able to watch them (test #2 in systems physio tomorrow), I have been in my white T all day :).  I also decided if I couldn’t be at my usual Memphis bar to watch the game (Next Door) eating my favorite salad, I would just make it here.

Grizzlies Game Day Salad

  • Arugula
  • Candied Pecans
  • Roasted Chicken
  • Red Onions
  • Green Apple Slices
  • Blue Cheese

Take it easy on the blue cheese and candied pecans, friends :).  I had some balsamic dressing I threw on there, definitely not as good as Next Door’s but it’ll do until I have time to figure out a new Grizzly routine.

Get ’em Grizz!

I’ll have to keep an eye on the score in between studying contractile cells and pneumothoraxes ;).

Karaoke Run at Texas Running Company.

First though, before I hit the books I want to share a unique group run I experienced last week.   Texas Running Company partnered with Brooks last week to bring back the Karaoke Group Run.

Brooks gear!

We had a great turnout of dozens of runners and singers.  When people arrived they were ushered to a laptop where they selected their own song that would play during the run.  While people waited we raffled off t-shirts, compression gear and entries into the Karaoke 5k on November 17.

The computer was then attached to a wheeled device and after a warm up to a Backstreet Boys’ song, the group was off.  It was high energy and fun and I was sad to have to stay behind to hold down the fort.

Karaokers ready to go!

 

Almost ready….

They returned about 30 minutes later – sweaty, smiling and thirsty for the beer we had waitiing on ice.  If you missed the run last week – join us Thursday November 15 for the next karaoke run.  6:30 pm at the Texas Running Company downtown.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I must get back to the books.  GO GRIZZ!

 

Leave a Reply

