Run to Fight Cancer

Standard

You running a half marathon!

You fighting cancer!

You in New Orleans!

New Orleans 2013

So you want to run your first (or twenty-first!) half marathon?  I’ve got a great way for that to happen for you (if you live in the city of Austin that is).  I am so excited to share my new part-time position as a DetermiNation half-marathon coach!

DetermiNation is the fundraising team for the American Cancer Society, a fabulous non-profit organization working to find cures for cancer.  Join the team today to start training for a half or full marathon.  I’ll help you cross the finish line and change the course of cancer forever.   The training and exercise you’ll get will even help reduce your own cancer risk – and the money you raise will help save lives from all forms of cancer.

My Team!

The benefits of training with a DetermiNation team are incredible (and I’m not just sayin’ that) depending on your fundraising target:

  • Guaranteed race registration
  • Weekend trip to New Orleans, including flight, hotel and team celebrations

NOLA!

  • In-person training designed to fit your lifestyle
  • Weekend group training sessions – designed by experienced coaches
  • Advice and support from ME, other mentors and fellow team members

Fun with Teammates!

  • VIP race weekend amenities, including access to the team tent, course support and a team pasta party
  • An official t-shirt (tech shirt!).  And after all, it’s all about the t-shirt.

Sound like something you’d like more info on?  I’d say so too.  There are some info sessions coming up in the Austin area:

10:30 AM Saturday, October 13 at REI Gateway

6:00 PM Tuesday, October 16 at Luke’s Locker downtown

6:00 PM Thursday, October 18 at American Cancer Society (2433 Ridgepoint Dr)

6:00 PM Tuesday, October 23 at Austin Public Library

7:00 PM Wednesday, October 24 at REI Round Rock

6:30 PM Tuesday, October 30 at McCormick and Schmick’s at the Domain

What to do now – contact me at runmem1@gmail.com or through the comment section here to let me know if you’d like to attend one of the information sessions!

If you can’t make it to the info sessions above, don’t let that be your excuse!  Contact me with any questions you have about running, this race, the fundraising process or Team DetermiNation.

I ran my first marathon just four years ago and it drastically changed the course of my life (for the better!) and I would love to share the joy, power, inspiration and fun that comes from it with YOU!

If you’re not in the Austin area, search for a team near you – DetermiNation is a national team as well! If you are in the Austin area, I hope to hear from you soon!  Training starts in just a few weeks 🙂

5 responses »

  1. So, I’m guessing you’ll be running New Orleans or at least be there the week after Austin. I may need to consider that weeklong trip down there and tour the south.

    This sounds like a great way for you to get connected. My first running group changed my life.

Leave a Reply

