Getting to Know Austin

Standard

Happy Saturday!  I dubbed today a rest day so that I could sleep in for the first time in a long while on the weekend 🙂  We were out celebrating arrivals and birthdays last night in the only proper manner – with tequila.  I do plan to do some kind of activity today along the lines of continuing to explore the city, I just haven’t decided if it will be on foot walking or on a rented bicycle.  I may get all the exercise I need hauling bags and bags around town with all my tax-free-weekend goodies!

Let’s get to know the basics about Austin before I get too settled in here.  It’s always nice to know a little bit about what you’re dealing with in a city.

Austin, Texas

  • Capitol of Texas
  • Population: 820,611
  • 13th most populous city in the U.S.
  • Growing rapidly with a 3% increase in population last year
  • Average rainfall: 33.6 inches per year
  • Average sunshine: 2650 hours or 60% of the year
  • 109 days of the year are over 90 degrees
  • 88 days of the year below 45 degrees
  • The largest city in the U.S. without a professional sports league

View from South Congress

I’m ok with most of those things – especially the sunshine.  I’m not sure how I feel about no professional sports teams, but that just means I can keep my allegiance to the Colts and the Grizzlies 🙂  Besides, I’ve heard the Longhorns are basically just like a professional team – we’ll have to see about that!

5 responses »

  1. Happy Saturday to you, too! I just got back from Brushy. I stopped on the way home and finally bought a replacement pedometer that works so am excited to go back out again today and tomorrow! Another great picture!!! Only 88 days below 45 degrees, I like that! OX

  2. Pingback: Adios 2012 « RUNMEM

Leave a Reply

