Foodie Fridays – Food Trucks, Torchy’s Tacos

Standard

Here’s an attempted revival of my Foodie Fridays.  I don’t think it’s unrealistic to try to eat at a new Austin restaurant once a week and on Fridays I’ll share that choice with y’all.  SO today is the first installment.

Austin has a HUGE food truck business.  Business?  Culture?  Industry?  I’m not sure the proper term but anyway, the food trucks seem to be around every corner.  Some stand alone, some are in clusters. They serve breakfast, lunch, dinner, dessert and drinks.  All kinds of food too.  TexMex.  Thai.  Sandwiches.  Chicken.  Pretty much if you want it, there’s a truck for it.  It’s just a matter of finding it.  There are hundreds, possibly a thousand+.  And I ate at one last night!

Torchy’s Tacos – South First Trailer Park

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There are a few trailers to pick from at this park but I went straight for the tacos.  Only appropriate for my first real meal here.  Koko and I split an order of chips and guacamole.  The guacamole should have been called “giant slices of avocado with something spicy mixed in”.  And that’s not a complaint.  I love avocado and the chunkier consistency of the guacamole was awesome.  The chips were thin and lightly salted to perfection.

My taco of choice was the chicken fajita which included big chunks of fajita-seasoned chicken with grilled peppers and onions on top.  There was just the right amount of cheese on top.  Combined with the chips, one was plenty.  I liked the atmosphere of the trailer park.  We sat under a big tree at a picnic table and although it was mighty hot outside I wasn’t miserable.

I’m going to do some research to see if it’s completely unrealistic to try to eat at every single food truck before I graduate……forget the running goal, let’s make my life’s ambition about eating 🙂

Happy weekend y’all!

 

4 responses »

  1. I have family in Austin and was introduced to Torchy’s, and food trucks, on my last visit there. DELICIOUS! I ate one of the best cupcakes of my life from a food truck on South Congress. Enjoy Austin!

Leave a Reply

