Tunesday – Time to Begin

Standard

Today I was supposed to be heading further west to Tulsa on the fourth leg of my roadtrip to Texas but was coerced into staying an extra night in Memphis.  It works out since I’m not in any big deadline rush to get to Austin and I’m just taking my time enjoying the city and the people where I grew up.  (Not where I was raised, but where I became an adult – or pretended to be one anyway).

So today when I was offered a place to stay through the weekend until Monday – “couple runs with Peekay, long greenline run this weekend, pool at the house and your own bedroom, plus we need some sitter help this weekend” – I was tempted.  All those perks plus a little extra income and a little extra time here certainly are attractive.  I didn’t get to most of the things on my last-minute tourist list (no museum, no Las Delicias, no cheesecake) and staying through the weekend would provide ample time for that.  But it’s time.  It’s time to move on.  Time to really say goodbye.  Time to do the hardest thing.  And that is where today’s song comes in.

It’s Time.  Imagine Dragons.

 

I don’t ever wanna let you down, I don’t ever wanna leave this town.

It’s time to begin, isn’t it?   I get a little bit bigger but then I’ll admit I’m just the same as I was.

Now don’t you understand, that I’m never changing who I am?

 

It’s time for me to look forward to a bright future in Austin, Texas while keeping the love, lessons and life Memphis has given me in my thoughts and memories.  Time to look forward to school and learning and new (bigger, according to the state motto) opportunities.  New people, new races, new friends.  Memphis, thank you for the memories, the support, the love and the laughter.  I promise not to forget the people here who have changed my life – from the Pack to Inside Out to Rhodes to the bartender at Alchemy to the Grizzlies to my clients to YoLo to my fancy date to the mighty Mississippi –  you will always have a place in my heart but it’s time to go.  Time to rip the bandaid and say good-bye.   I love you, but it’s time to begin.

2 responses »

  1. You go girl!!! Exciting times ahead! Thank you SO much for sharing Memphis with us and would still love you as my tour guide someday! OX

Leave a Reply

