Breakfast of (Olympic) Champions

Standard

Yay it’s Wednesday (and August!)  I had a tempo run on the schedule for today, and although it’s about 2 miles longer than yesterday’s track run, I was more relaxed about it.

The Workout – 2 miles easy, 3 miles @ tempo (7:51-8:11), 1 mile easy.

I joined the boys for the first the easy 1.5 miles, at which point they turned around to head home and I kept on down the trail.  I finished off the two warm-up miles and continued to the 2.5 mile marker – shooting for an 8:00 pace and hoping to negative split all the way home.

Split
Time
Distance
Avg Pace
Summary 43:18.9 5.00 8:39
1 9:50.4 1.00 9:51
2 7:59.2 1.00 7:59
3 7:59.5 1.00 8:00
4 7:55.4 1.00 7:55
5 9:31.4 1.00 9:31
6 :02.9 0.00 10:57

I hit all my goal times for the middle miles, and I’m gonna go ahead and argue that I made a negative split on the second mile – I was at .99 miles heading into the bridge and didn’t finish until I hit the other side – I think the satellites lost my connection under there…..(oh the excuses we come up with!)  It was tough to push the 8:00 pace for three miles, I  can’t imagine doing it for 10.1 more!  Good thing there are 17 weeks to go.

*For you observant folks who noticed I only logged 5 with Gary, it’s because it took him the entire first mile to wake up and find the satellites.  So I didn’t start the time until we were at the first mile marker.

Olympic Gold Waffles

YES! Waffles!

My breakfast this morning was inspired by a recipe I read about in Health Magazine.  Kerri Walsh, two-time gold medalist in beach volleyball, enjoys this breakfast for the protein, carbs and portability!  I modified her version a little to make my own USA Olympic Gold Medal Waffles.

Coffee in an Olympic mug with red, white and blue waffles!

  • 1 multi-grain waffles (2 if you’re really hungry – for post-run or pre-test 🙂 )
  • 2 tsp almond butter (or peanut butter if you prefer!)
  • 1/2 banana
  • 2 strawberries
  • Handful blueberries
  • Honey (optional)

I’m not a big fan of honey or syrup (seriously) but if you want a drizzle, go for it!  I feel full and satisfied and ready to take on my biomechanics final…..

What a great bite.

Have a great day, I’ll see you this afternoon!

One response »

  1. I did my “tempo” miles for the last two after breaking off from the other guys who only went 3….deposition for one lawyer, heading to Chicago for a Cubs’ game for another runner and all-for-one, one-for-all “team” approach for the third!

Leave a Reply

