Daily Archives: July 24, 2012

What’s Next?

Standard

Y’all are relentless.  I have barely had time to bask in my 9th state of glory and already the questions of “What next?” are rolling in via comments, emails and text messages.  Well in an attempt to get you monkeys off my back, I’ve provided three explanations below – first a short answer followed by medium and long answers.

The short answer.

I don’t know.

The medium answer.

I don’t know but I am considering the following options:

Denver, CO.

Rock ‘n’ Roll Denver – September 22

St. Louis, MO

Rock ‘n’ Roll St. Louis – October 21

Tulsa, OK.

Route 66 Half Marathon – November 18

The long answer.

I don’t know but am considering the previously mentioned options and am hesitant to commit because of the following problems/conflicts:

  1. I start my move across the country in just two weeks.  I’m currently in training for the marathon drive through six states.  It involves a lot of practicing sitting and several stops along the way – Louisville, Nashville, MEMPHIS, and Tulsa.  I am planning on running a 5-miler (Sunday, August 12) on my way through Memphis (we’ll see how much attention the bartender at Alchemy on Saturday gets from me though).
  2. After I’m settled in my new home of Austin, TX, I will be a full-time graduate student and have no idea what the course load will be like.  Classes start on August 29 and from that point on I suspect I’ll be nose-in-a-book 24/7.  I also don’t know what weekends are realistically available for travel – what if I choose to go to St. Louis and have to miss a big UT football game an exam the following Monday?!
  3. I have no formal method, or informal for that matter, of bringing in cash (at the moment) and therefore funding the race, the travel and the lodgings is proving to be a budgeting nightmare.  If you have  a strong preference for one of the locations mentioned above and a bit of cash laying around, I will happily discuss sponsorship with you – I get your money and offer no promises in return.
  4. It may be so damn hot in Austin that I melt on one of my training runs.  Or I may love the TexMex and tequila lifestyle a little too much.  Or both.

The promise.

But I promise, I will run one more state this year.

And that doesn’t count the St. Jude Memphis Half-Marathon that I’ll run on December 1.  I checked Tennessee last year so unfortunately can’t check it again……

What state would you pick?  (Unless you’re offering that wad of sponsorship cash, your opinion has zero influence on my decision, I’m just bein’ Southern polite)

Tunesday – Chicago Playlist.

Standard

Hey y’all!  I’ve just returned from another recovery run (this one a little longer, but still recovery because I didn’t push any speed).  OMG it was even worse than the race – 80 degrees to start!  I’m glad to be out of the taper (though I credit it for my strong finish in Chicago), I think it made me into a cranky and stressed out bitch…sorry for anyone that brief stage affected (or maybe it’s just the interesting place in my life right now…)!  At least I’m back on the road 🙂

Love Chi.

Instead of one song this week you get an entire playlist!  I had mostly new music for the race this past weekend and it really helped the fun-factor of the race.  A lot of it is not your typical running or workout music but I LOVED this mix for the relaxed and fun run that Chicago was intended to be.  Enjoy the tunes – I’ve included links to my very favorites!

Blow Me (One Last Kiss) – P!nk.  I think that life’s too short for this, want back my ignorance and bliss, I think I’ve had enough of this.  I listened to this song twice the first time it came on about halfway.  Then I searched for it again at the start of the last mile and listened to it all the way across the finish line.  Fist pumping and singing all the way…..

Carry On – Fun.  If you’re lost and alone, or you’re sinking like a stone, carry on.

Daylight – Matt and Kim.

Eyes Wide Open – Gotye.  We walk the plank with our eyes wide open.

Flowers in Your Hair – The Lumineers.  Be in my eyes and be in my heart.  It’s a short song and it starts off slowly but less than a minute in, the chorus starts and it picks up in a very happy way – just the pick me up you need around mile 5.

Ho Hey – The Lumineers.

Hold On – Alabama Shakes.  I got so much to do, I ain’t got much time, So, must be someone up above saying “Come on girl! You got to get back up!!” “You got to hold on…”  A little non-traditional but slow and steady.  Plus the words just pull you along!

Keep Me in Mind – Zac Brown Band.  Well the world can be real tough, find shelter in me, if there’s no one else to love keep me in mind.  Just a happy, zippy song.

King and Lionheart – Of Monsters and Men.  Howling ghosts they reappear, and mountains they are stacked with mounting fear.  But you’re a king and I’m a lionheart.  Excellent beat.

Little Talks – Of Monsters and Men.

Loving You Tonight – Andrew Allen.

Mountain Sound – Of Monsters and Men.

Never Go Back – Grace Potter & the Nocturnals.  I’m pushin’ up on the ceiling, I’m beatin’ back all my demons, And I’m never lettin’ you back in again.

Save Me – Gotye.  And I could not love, Cuz I could not love myself, Never good enough, no, That was all I’d tell myself.  I got lost in this song for a stretch on Michigan Avenue – deep in thought on the lyrics.

Say You Like Me – We The Kings.  She’s just waiting for that one to take her hand and shake her up…..I’m never goin’ down, I’m never givin’ up.  This one was repeated a few times when it came on.  Just so bouncey!

Shake it Out – Florence and the Machine.  It’s always darkest before the dawn…It’s hard to dance with the devil on your back….Shake it out, shake it out.  When this song came on and words “Shake it Out” played through my headphones, I literally shook my arms out.  It was helpful in the run, and this song will be helpful in life.

Slow it Down – The Lumineers.

Springsteen – Eric Church.  Funny how a melody sounds like a memory, like a soundtrack to a July Saturday night.  Of course I had some country on the playlist.  Do you know me at all yet?

Stubborn Love – The Lumineers.  I can’t be told it can’t be done.  It’s better to feel pain, than nothin’ at all.  The opposite of love’s indifference….keep your head up, my love.   This is my new favorite song.

Take a Walk – Passion Pit.  I remind myself times could be much worse.

Too Close – Alex Clare.  Got to be true to myself.  And it feels like I am just too close to love you.  So I’ll be on my own.

Whistle – Flo Rida.

Why am I the One – Fun.  For once, for once, for once, I get the feeling that im right where I belong.
Why am I the one always packing all my stuff?
 Excellent tempo changes, plus it just relates to the transitional state of my life right now.

Windy City.

What are you listening to right now?

If you need me today, I’ll be watching out our front door for an early birthday present I ordered for myself!!  Any guesses?!