Finally, all negative

Standard

Hey y’all!  Late on the post today, but was still on the road this morning!  I’ve been trying to run as close to 7:30 am as possible to mirror the time of day the Rock n Roll Chicago Half Marathon will be (just 12 days away now!).  As I was sippin’ on my pre-run coffee, there wasn’t I doubt in my mind that I was running, and looking forward to it.  The temperatures were relatively low and I had some new tunes for the road.  There was however, a big doubt in my mind about sticking to the plan of a one mile warm-up and 5k of negative splits.  My legs were feeling extra heavy from the long miles over the weekend (and in part too from the strange water activity I put them through yesterday – definitely a new exercise that swimming is!).

But sometimes you just have to get out there and see how you feel.  I like having the mile warmup because it helps get things (like stiff joints and heavy muscles) moving, and truthfully helps me wake up all the way.  Once I got out of the neighborhood, I decided to go ahead and go for the negative splits, trying to stick close to an 8:00 pace.  I plodded along, enjoying the milder temperatures, not really thinking about anything except to not stop moving.  I remember there were points when I was tired and breathing was deep but otherwise pretty regular run.  I didn’t pay much attention to my watch, just ran.

Well it looks like for the first time since I started this little 5k practice exercise, I was successful in my splits!  I got a little bit faster each mile.  Usually on this particular course, I get slower in the last mile because of the hills but not today!  I powered up those inclines.  My total time this week was 23.57 – faster than my two previous practice rounds and the discouraging Gibson race!  Practice really does make you better…..

Split
Time
Distance
Avg Pace
Summary 43:19.6 5.00 8:40
1 8:29.0 0.75 11:16
2 8:04.3 1.00 8:04
3 7:59.4 1.00 7:59
4 7:51.1 1.00 7:51
5 :43.4 0.10 7:30
6 9:01.1 1.00 9:01
7 1:11.3 0.15 7:46

I’ll have to pick a day soon to run an actual 5k race and put all this practice to a true test!  Half-marathon training and 5k PR training don’t go so well together, so that will happen after the Chicago race.

Happy Tunesday – Everybody Talks.  Neon Trees.

Neon Trees. Everybody Talks.

It’s been a bit since I’ve shared some music with you.  Today’s song helped get me up some of those hills in the last mile – I like its fast pace and bouncey attitude.  I’m not sure what they’re saying most of the time, but that’s part of the creativity of the run!

What are you listening to this week?

Ive got an evening of biomechanics, boating, and a sunset on the water ahead of me – not too bad for a Tuesday!  See y’all tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

