Happy Birthday America!

Standard

Happy 4th of July y’all!  Today is one of my Top 3 Favorite Holidays (third place to Christmas and Thanksgiving) and since I’m not in class it’s a perfect day to go for a longer run in a less traveled place.  So far this summer most of my runs have started at my parent’s house and venture through the neighborhood, along the hilly paved path to the park and onto the straighter, softer trail.  And back.  It’s been a nice path to me for the past 10 weeks but I always love new territory.

This morning Popsicle and I ventured out to the Monon trail to run an 8-miler.  We’re just two and a half weeks away from the Chicago Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon and although we’re both in half-mary shape, the heat and humidity has us both concerned.

Pre-8-miler – all smiles!

It was a tough run and we were both soaking wet by the end.  In the middle of the miles we encountered a 4.5 mile race being run in Carmel (The Freedom Run).  And by encountered I mean, overtaken on the trail by a pack of speedy, sweaty runners.

Stats:

Location: Monon Trail – 96th Street to 136th Street

Miles: 8.02

Time: 1:14:15

Pace: 9:16

Temps: 77 to start, 82 to finish

4 pushups on the 4th!

After the 8 miles, I sucked it up and completed my July Challenge for the day.  4 pushups for the 4th of July!

Post-Run Fuel

I’m trying really hard to be better at fueling my muscles properly after I work them out so hard (even though it was an “easy” run in terms of pace, the heat makes it extra taxing on my body) and am continually researching ways to do that.  Right now my main focus is to eat within an hour of completing my workout, making sure to include fats, carbs and proteins.  I knew I would want something cold after an hour plus in the heat so I prepared last night (planning ahead?! Shocking I know).

Speckled Nanners

We had some bananas laying around that were in danger of going too brown for my taste so I peeled a few, cut them in half and put them in a Ziploc.  Then I put them in the freezer!  One of my roommates in college taught me this incredible trick.  I don’t know what happens but the banana transforms into a creamy, almost ice cream like dessert.

Almond butter and bananas

This morning when we returned from the run, I sliced the halves in half again (lengthwise this time) and spread some roasted almond butter in between.  I reassembled the bananas to make a nanner sandwich.  They were so delicious!  The bananas were creamy and cold and the almond butter added the familiar nutty and thick taste that I love.

Perfect post-run meal: Skinny Iced Mocha and almond butter and bananas

I then enjoyed my meal on the back porch and added a Grande Iced Skinny Mocha from Starbucks.  So the nutrient breakdown would be (in the simplest form possible) – carbs: banana and syrup in mocha fats: almond butter protein: almond butter (just a bit) and skim milk.

Happy 4th of July!  What do you have planned for the day?

5 responses »

  1. I admire your running lifestyle. At my age (59) and after 31 years of teaching Kindergarten (retired 2 yrs) I need to get active but have an issue wuth swollen left ankle…so I’m trying to just walk. Still a challenge. My best so far is 30 minutes, twice a day. Need to loose weight so I can walk more. Eating better now. Any suggestions ? (eating veg more, seeds, nuts, fruit, less meat, using herbs, spice like tumeric, garlic, cayenne, cinnamon. I need to drink more water,)

    • Thanks for stopping by! It sounds like you’re absolutely on the right track. I say keep walking – and see if each week you can add 5 minutes to your time. Eating will help a lot with the weight loss but it sounds like you’re choosing excellent foods!

  2. Hi again…i will try my best….just need to find my routine and try some discipline. I will try to increase my time walking gradually once the heat goes down….walking at night when it is cooler in my village is safe so no excuse really…..I’ll let you know later on how it’s going….thanks…

Leave a Reply

