Weekend in Memphis

Standard

Hey all – I rolled into Memphis last night around dinnertime after an extremely uneventful drive through Illinois, Missouri and Arkansas.  And it’s not at all what I expected.  I packed for god-awful humidity (as I had a friend tell me on the phone last week that it’s almost impossible to be comfortable in clothes outside) and heat.  So imagine my delight as I sit outside eating breakfast in the very pleasant 70 degree weather.  Let’s hope it hangs on until Saturday night.

Which brings me to one of the main events of the trip – the Gibson 5k. If you’re in Memphis, I highly recommend running this race.  Other than the fact that it’s a night race (I HATE evening races!) it’s a great event – the course covers all the great aspects of downtown (Beale Street, the River, Gibson Factory) and the one good thing about it being at night is the after party!  I give credit to this race being my transition point from runner to racer last year.  And this year I’m hoping to beat last year’s time!

But that’s not until Saturday night – first I have an entire three days to fill with fun Memphis activities!  Up next today is an attempt to acclimate to the heat with a quick run on the Greenline and then lunch at Cheffie’s.  Tonight I’m looking forward to an evening at the Levitt Shell to see The Black Lilies play and then am looking forward to a semi-fancy dinner at Flight, one of my favorite downtown restaurants!

The Shell.

What are your plans for the weekend?  Will you run in the Gibson race?

Leave a Reply

