Foodie Friday – Summer Smoothie

Standard

Hey Friday!  It’s a big weekend in Indianapolis, as we host the “Greatest Spectacle in Racing” on Sunday.  Although I lived here for 98% of my childhood and adolescence, I have never attended the Indy 500 (although I’ve run one lap around the 2.5 mile track in the Indy Mini Marathon in 2011)  And I don’t plan on starting this year.  The forecast for the weekend calls for higher than average temperatures and no clouds, I absolutely do not want to sit around a gigantic blacktop oval that will add about 15 extra degrees of heat and watch cars drive around and around, while surrounded by a bunch of race fans (no offense, they’re not really my type).

Big Ol’ Track – Indianapolis Motor Speedway

SO Sunday may be the hottest Indy 500 on record, and this week’s temperatures have certainly reflected that possibility.  The extra heat has made me crave something cold after runs and workout and I’ve whipped up the following smoothie almost every day this week (except this morning because I was out of one of the ingredients).

Summer Smoothie

I adapted this recipe from a Women’s Health Cleanse (I didn’t complete the cleanse, just looked for recipe ideas..).

You need:

  • 1 cup frozen berries
  • 1.5 cups milk (I use unsweetened vanilla almond milk)
  • 1 BIG handful of spinach
  • 1 scoop protein powder (optional)
  • 1 tsp almond/peanut butter (optional)
  • A couple ice cubes

Smoothie Ingredients

Throw all that into a blender and blend until it’s smooth!  Depending on the strength of your blender, this could take a minute or a couple minutes.  It’s so delicious and you get a healthy serving of fruits AND vegetables (I promise you can’t even taste the spinach!!).

Yum!

Any Hoosiers braving the heat for the race this weekend?  

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Running with the Boys « RUNMEM

  2. Pingback: 5k Practice « RUNMEM

Leave a Reply

