Musical Wednesdays – Everybody’s Free

Standard

Hi y’all!  I’m up early – not because I have a gym appointment or wanted to run but because I’ve got a test on 8 chapters of exercise physiology and two labs due today…..I’ve forgotten what it’s like to be a student a little bit!  I think the workload is making me indecisive about what kind of workout I want to do this morning – a run seems like too much time when I could be studying, but my quadriceps are sore from somethin’ yesterday (steps or sprints? not sure!) so I’m hesitant to do anything too tough.  

Meanwhile, today’s song played on the radio when I was driving to Greencastle last week for little bro’s graduation.  I remember hearing it in high school but probably not at all since.  I listened to the whole song and found some of the advice to be relevant and inspiring to anyone graduating, but also just nice reminders for general people.

Everybody’s Free (To Wear Sunscreen).  Laz Buhrmann.

If you’d rather read it, than listen to it, here is the original column by Mary Schmich as seen in the Chicago Tribune (

Some of my favorite lines

  • You are not as fat as you imagine.
  • Do one thing everyday that scares you.
  • Don’t feel guilty if you don’t know what you want to do with your life. The most interesting people I know didn’t know at 22 what they wanted to do with their lives. Some of the most interesting 40-year-olds I know still don’t.
  • Don’t be reckless with other people’s hearts, don’t put up with people who are reckless with yours.
  • Remember compliments you receive, forget the insults.
  • Stretch.
  • Be kind to your knees.
  • Don’t congratulate yourself too much, don’t berate yourself either.  Your choices are half chance, so are everybody else’s.
  • Enjoy your body, use it every way that you can.  Don’t be afraid of it, or what other people think of it.  It’s the greatest instrument you’ll ever own.
  • Do not read beauty magazines, they will only make you feel ugly.
  • The older you get, the more you need the people who knew you when you were young.
  • Travel.
  • Don’t expect anyone else to support you.

What advice do you take away from that song?  What advice would you give to this year’s graduates?

Leave a Reply

