Lightning Delay

Standard

Happy Monday, y’all!  I woke up this morning with plans to join my dad’s superhardcore running group.  En route to the shelter where the group convenes to run on the Zionsville Rail Trail, my dad spotted several flashes of lightning.  When we pulled into the parking lot, the first thing Al and Todd said to us was, “Did you see those flashes?  It’s too dangerous.”

The policy then, for any run that gets delayed/cancelled is to meet at the Starbucks to talk about running.  So we turned around and headed for the coffee shop.  Once inside, we stayed true to the policy – my dad sharing stories from the terribly humid Indianapolis Mini Marathon.  He ran it in 2:02, his PW (personal worst).  We also talked about goals for the summer, my focus being on short and speedy (hoping to hit the 21s for a 5k) and then leading up to St. Jude in the winter.

Good intentions…

Eventually conversation drifted to the plans of the recent graduates.  A cool thing about Zionsville (the town that raised me) is that most families were here the entirety of their children’s school years.  So these dads have kids who went to school with my younger brother and I’ve known the kids and families since I was a young thing.  I can’t believe they’re grown up – including my little bro who graduates in two weeks from college!  WTF – how old am I?

Anyway, since I was all jacked up on caffeine after the “run”, I went straight to LAFitness for a total body strength workout.  I completed 3 sets of 12 repetitions in the following supersets.

Total Body Strength Routine

Superset 1

  • Bench Press
  • Assisted Pullups
  • Step Ups

Superset 2

  • Cable Flies
  • High Rows
  • Hamstring Curls

Superset 3

  • DB Shoulder Press
  • Bicep Curls
  • Walking Lunges

Superset 4

  • Shoulder Raises (Lateral and Front)
  • Tricep Laying Extensions
  • Straight Leg Deadlifts

Superset 5

  • Bicep 21s
  • Tricep Bench Dips
  • Abductor Machine
  • Adductor Machine

Core – I did one core move per superset, finishing with the final three in a row.

  • Forearm Plank – 1:17
  • Hanging Knee Tucks – 15
  • Single Leg Climb – 15 each w/ 6 pound ball
  • Russian Twists – 50 w/ 6 pound ball
  • Cross Leg Situps – 25
  • Butt Lifts – 25
  • Bicycles – 50

Then just because there was a basketball court, I ran 2 suicides……

Breakfast

By the time I got home, I was starving!  It’s important to give your muscles some protein within 30 minutes of a tough workout like that one.  So before a shower, before anything, I went straight to the fridge.  This morning I sauteed some spinach with 2 servings of egg whites and one egg, topped with buffalo hot sauce and mixed fresh berries on the side.  YUM!

Protein for tired muscles!

Side of sweet.

The rest of my day includes more unpacking, thank you notes and my fitness assessment!  A little bit nervous to be on the other side of the training!  Enjoy the day!  Oh, and a nap so I can stay up to see the Grizz play – 10:30 start time here….Yikes!

Leave a Reply

