Musical Wednesdays – Proud Mary

Standard

Oh do I have some stories to go along with this song (dolls – sophomore year formal at Mollie Fontaine’s?!).

Proud Mary.  Ike and Tina Turner. The Best of Ike and Tina Turner.

Proud Mary.

I love this song (and it has to be this particular “nice and easy/nice and rough” version) because it reminds me of Memphis for several reasons.  The first and most obvious is the reference to Memphis and rollin’ on the river.  I also love it because of all the memories it plays soundtrack to.  We sang to it.  We danced to it.  Terrible singing and crazy dancing.  Y’all would die if you could see our Proud Mary dance.  Seriously – boppin’ around, arms rolling and hair flying ridiculous laughing kind of fun.

Proud Mary Dancin'

This particular version of the song works very well for increasing your speed on a run or intensity in a workout.  As Ike and Tina take it to “nice and rough”, the tempo picks up and you’re ready to sprint to the finish.

While I was thinking of songs containing Memphis in the lyrics, I used Google to help jog my memory – little did I know I would have to sift through OVER 1,000 SONGS containing a reference to my fabulous city somewhere in the lyrics.  Sorry Austin and Athens, you ain’t got nothin’ on that!

What’s your favorite Memphis song?  

5 responses »

  1. YES! Best morning granola ever. That was a great night. 🙂 Cheers to Memphis and rollin’ on the river.

  2. I’ll have to go with yours…I don’t really have a favorite Memphis song, yet but let’s remember that when I come visit and we’ll “create’ a favorite!!!

Leave a Reply

