Newsday Tuesday, Part II – I’m Movin’?!

Standard

I’ve been waiting to share this personal news with all of you readers for a long time, and this seems to be the appropriate Tuesday, time and location. I’m working on my April Challenge of today (remember this morning’s post was actually a re-cap of last night’s late adventure) and am soaking up some summertime on the back deck of Otherlands Coffee Bar in Cooper Young.

20120403-142812.jpg

The best iced latte - no joke.

I have a few hours until my Bosu Class at the gym and wanted to talk to y’all about my exciting and bittersweet life news. I’m going to keep it short and sweet today, I really want to dig further into Jubilee , but I also want to spare all the unnecessary details to my general readership. I’m more than happy to discuss it in more detail with you if you have questions! You know how to reach me 🙂

So, here’s what I know. I know that this was a tough decision for me. I love Memphis (is my Memphis April Challenge making more sense now?) and it has been a good first home away from home for me.

I love this town.

I love my job. I love the people I work for and the second family I’ve found at Inside Out. There’s no reason for me to leave, which makes it the perfect time; to leave when I’m happy.

Part of my second family.

I also know that I’ve always thought about and wanted to attend graduate school at a larger university than my little Rhodes College. I didn’t put a time limit on this first job but two years seems like a good amount of time to have a break from school and maybe figure out what I want. I know I applied to four schools – Ole Miss, University of Texas at Austin, University of Georgia and Wake Forest. I know Wake Forest doesn’t want me (that’s ok, they’re still upset I snubbed them for Rhodes for undergrad). I know that my final decision will either be for UGA or UT, and I have 12 days to decide. I know I need to see UGA one more time before I make an educated decision and will zip over to Athens next weekend. I welcome your votes (right now on FB, UT has a large lead….) but make no promises to choose the winner!

Here’s my timeline for leavin’ – I’ll work all of April as I normally do, teaching classes, torturing clients and running all over this town. I’ll keep my early mornings, even as my Memphis nights get later and later. Sometime early in May I’ll move home to Momsie and Popsicle’s house (the house that I grew up in) to became a part-time student in courses I need to start my program in the fall. Which also means I get plenty of time with my favorite pup! That’s not a lot of time to say farewell to Memphis, which is why I picked the town as my April Challenge.

Home to them for the summer!

I’ll be back to Memphis some in May and June for work, fun and some favorite races (Gibson 5k!), but for the most part my summer will be spent in the town that raised me, famous for its brick main street and antique shops (I know, I can hardly contain my excitement either). But truly, I’m excited for the opportunity to stay at home again, even for a few months. And excited about what follows in August, even though I’m not sure which school it will be yet. It’s nice to know I can’t really make a bad decision. So here we go – it’s TX vs. GA. SEC vs. Big 12. Longhorns vs. Bulldogs. Burnt orange vs. Red and black. Cowboys vs. Southern boys. Cast your vote, and I’ll keep you posted on my decision!

What school would you choose? And this time (unlike on Facebook), tell me why.

 

4 responses »

  1. You know, tbh, if I had to choose I think I’d go with GA in the end. If the programs were similar that is… simply put, it’s closer to everything I really like and miss. Austin is lovely, my heart beat hard when I was there but…. it’s in the desert-like TX. And GA is in the middle (well, more middle anyway) and close to mountains and sea… (both southern and eastern) and other big cities (not only Dallas, Houston and San Antonio) but other states.

    hm, that said, I’ll admit I might be slightly biased since I’ve been to Austin and it would be great fun visiting Bulldogterritory and watch a great game of football 😉

    /the Swede

  2. Congratulations, Jess! Graduate school is a wonderful (albeit stressful) experience. What are you going to study?

    Also, I feel you on the moving back home to the brick main street and antique shops. I did it for my gap year between undergrad and grad school. At least you’ll be “in-between” for a short time. Just soak up the things you do miss and spend your time focusing on you. I also took classes to prepare for my graduate program and that was honestly a really great distraction. I also spent a LOT of time running! 🙂 This also may be one of the last times that you get to enjoy your parents and not having all the responsibilities of being an adult. And of course, puppy time is always wonderful.

    Congratulations, and good luck making a decision! I was completely torn between two schools until I visited both programs and met the other graduate students and the faculty. You’ll know in your gut, I promise.

    • Thanks Caitlin – I’m going to study kinesiology. I’m thrilled to be going home for a few months, I feel I know what to appreciate now! Happy trails -J

  3. Pingback: Adios 2012 « RUNMEM

Leave a Reply

