Newsday Tuesday – Threesome

Standard

Today’s post has three bits of news I wanted to share with you. One related to running, two related to pure entertainment but all related to me and my interests.

First up – I’ll be running in the Viking Half Marathon this weekend.  It’s in Greenwood, MS so I’ll get to mark my eighth state off the challenge list.  I’m going with two friends/clients, Becca and Elizabeth to run the half, and one beginner runner Anna for the 5k.   Elizabeth isn’t running but instead will be playing hostess and tour guide of her hometown.  I’m looking forward to seeing the place that raised this southern princess.

State #8, MS.

Second order of business – I was housesitting over the past two weeks at several locations and one fateful day on my lunch break I was brave enough to turn on the TV (I don’t have cable at my personal residence).  I discovered a daily three-hour Grey’s Anatomy marathon on Lifetime (weekdays, noon to 3 pm).  Lifetime is currently showing season 4 (I stopped in the middle of 3) but I was instantly sucked back in.

How could they not suck you in?

Then I went on to discover that Netflix (I subscribe to the instant streaming) now carries all seven seasons of the TV show that I obsessed over my first year of college.  Since making this discovery, I’ve decided it’s time to reunite with the gang and start over from the beginning.  So long running, work, blogging and all types of productivity.

And finally – “The Hunger Games” set all kinds of records for opening weekend and I am proud to say I’m part of that history.  The blockbuster hit brought in $155 million dollars this weekend alone and set the record for a non-sequel (thanks Washington Post).  I like this article that points out the popular success a strong female action hero can have (move over Tom Cruise, it’s about time!)

Get 'em girl.

Can’t wait to let you know how my Katniss-inspired track workout goes tonight…..

One response »

  1. Pingback: Musical Wednesdays – Kingdom Come « RUNMEM

Leave a Reply

