Red and Green Sausage Soup

Standard

The following recipe is my personalized twist on a recipe found in the January 2012 edition of Oprah Magazine.

Oprah Magazine

My inspiration for the recipes I’m choosing for my weekly cooking challenge are coming from a variety of places – blogs, cookbooks, magazines and my own creativity.  I’m always on the lookout for combinations of ingredients I’ll enjoy that take minimal time to prepare.  I thought the Cajun Kale Soup with Andouille Sausage looked perfect for me!

Oprah's Version

I liked all the vegetables, the broth base and the inclusion of sausage.  Once I found myself in the kitchen, I was making all sorts of adjustments along the way!  Click the above link for Oprah’s Recipe and see below for my improvisation on it.

Red and Green Sausage Soup

Ingredients

  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 red onion, chopped
  • 2 celery stalks, chopped
  • 1 green bell pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1 1/2 tsp minced garlic
  • 2 links chicken sausage, sliced
  • 1 box (4 cups) chicken stock
  • 1 large can peeled, chopped tomatoes
  • 2 handfuls of greens (kale, turnip, spinach)
  • 1 Tbsp dried thyme
  • 1/2 tsp allspice

Instructions

  1. In a large soup pot, heat the oil over medium heat.  Add chopped onion and celery and cook until transparent (about 4 minutes), stirring occasionally.  Add the garlic, peppers and sausage, cooking until peppers soften (about 5 minutes).  Mix in thyme and allspice.
  2. Add tomatoes and broth, stirring to mix all the vegetables together.  Bring the contents of the pot to a boil and add your leafy greens.  Stir again to mix the greens with the soup.
  3. Let the soup simmer, covered for 15-20 minutes.  Add additional salt or seasonings to taste (I did not add anything else).
  4. Serve and enjoy!

My version

I enjoyed two bowls of this after my run and could probably have eaten a third it’s so delicious!  I think I’ve got lunch covered for at least two days  this week now too!  This soup is just what I needed to combat the cold front that has descended on Memphis.

Enjoy!  What was the best part of your weekend?

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

