Thankful Thursdays – Reading

Standard

Sounds pretty simple.  But I realized this morning how grateful I am to not only have the ability to read, but to enjoy it!  Just yesterday I was talking to one of our members who works at Literacy Mid-south and realized I might like to volunteer there.  What a simple life skill to take for granted.

I think finishing up the book I was reading (The Time Traveler’s Wife) further fueled this realization – as well as the anticipation of selecting my next book.

Just Finished

I really enjoyed The Time Traveler’s Wife.  It was written in a way that held my attention and provided the perspective of the wife, and the time traveler.  I’ve caught bits and pieces of the movie before so knew a little bit about it, but as usual, the book is better.  A wonderful love story with a little twist.

I also recently finished The Night Circus which was more descriptive than eventful in my opinion.  This is one that I would love to see on the big screen to have some of those circus images brought to life by Hollywood.  It took me much longer to finish than The Time Traveler’s Wife.

The Night Circus

My top 3 favorite books of all time are

  1. Gone with the Wind – I’m a sucker for war romances, and appreciate the strong female character presented in Scarlett who is able to fend (mostly) for herself during the war.  Poor foolish girl didn’t see what a great southern man she had though – God bless Rhett Butler.  It’s one of the only books I’ve ever read multiple times.
  2. Pillars of the Earth/World Without End –  Both, like GWTW, gigantic books.  I figure I must like a long story with lots of action and events.   Author Ken Follett had a way of creating characters that I had deep emotions about – sympathy, hatred, admiration.  It’s set in medieval times and follows the lives and interactions of the characters through the construction of a grand cathedral for the town.  There is betrayal and loyalty, church and politics, sex and murder, all sides of good and evil.  In WWE, the saga continues around the cathedral but is several hundred years in the future.  I’m not sure which I liked better so they’re tied.
  3. The Great Gatsby – No explanation needed.

Still not quite sure what I’ll pick next –   any suggestions?  What is your favorite book?  What are you thankful for today?

4 responses »

  1. Just finished the Art of Fielding and loved it! Has gotten some gray reviews. Love the idea of volunteering for literacy. Go for it! Sunny and warming in Atlanta. Tsxiing …..

Leave a Reply

