Thankful Thursdays – The End

Standard

I am so thankful my January Challenge is over.  My legs were starting to talk back to my drive to get them running every day.  I’m pretty sure they thought they had been switched to a Kenyan’s body.  And today they are relieved to find they have not been – I’M NOT RUNNING TODAY! (Don’t you know Kenyans don’t have rest days?)

I am grateful to have the opportunity to rest my feet, to not worry about pushing through the rain or cold.  Grateful to not have to dread possibly facing the treadmill when I save my workout for the end of the day.

I am grateful that it happened.  That I pushed through those excuses.  That I experimented with different types of runs – treadmill intervals, short sprints, long runs, short runs, solo runs, group runs, 4-legged-friend runs.  I ran in the early morning, middle of the day and “late” at night.

I am thankful for the healthy body that allowed me to complete the challenging task – for my legs to carry me through the miles, my brain to ignore my legs when they said “no we won’t go” and my spirit for staying positive.  And for all the other spirits who followed my journey – encouraging and supporting me along the way!

I am grateful for the jump start on my 1,000 mile goal for the year!  In 31 days I logged 121.26 miles over 32 runs.  My longest run was 10.8 miles and my shortest .33.

Here’s to February!  What are you thankful for today?

One response »

  1. I’m thankful that even though you are sick of running you are still going to run 23.1 miles with me this month! ….crap, thats a lot for just 2 days of running, why did I say that…

Leave a Reply

