Newsday Tuesday – Miami Half Marathon

Standard

The greatest thing about being completely in control of this blog is that I can bend the rules a little bit.  And I’m going to do that today – usually on Tuesdays I give you a bit of news like the Top Fitness Trends of 2012 or Women’s Boxing Debut in the Olympics but today I’m going to twist the definition of “news” a bit.

I’m going to tell you something I bet you didn’t know.  The 2012 ING Miami Marathon and Half Marathon were this past weekend.  Big deal right?  Well it is a big deal because I’m going to use this opportunity to tell you about the time I ran in the 2010 ING Miami Half Marathon (race occurred before the blog and the dream of running every state were born).

State #1: ING Miami Half Marathon 2010

January 31, 2010

Time: 1:57:27

Important Background Info:

  • Had just returned in December from a semester abroad in Ireland.
  • I ran my first half-marathon in September while in Dublin.
  • I’m a senior in college – last semester!
  • My college boyfriend lived in Miami at the time and was working for the Health Corps, a job I was actively pursuing for post-grad.
  • 2010 was the same year the Colts were heading to face the Saints in the Super Bowl – hosted by Miami.

    Saints signs were all over the city

The race was the last weekend in January so I had been back at Rhodes for a couple of weeks.  I remember the adjustment back to life in Memphis after living in Dublin was hard for me – lots of changes that I missed in the fall.  It was good to be back in school though.  The weekend I was scheduled to leave for Miami a gigantic snowstorm blew through Memphis.  And in typical southern snowstorm panic, the city shut down.  School was cancelled.  The gym was closed. My flight was delayed, and delayed and delayed until finally it was cancelled.

I got bumped to the next day flight – cutting my relaxing 3-day vacation into a whirlwind weekend revolving mostly around the race. I remember there was still snow for my delayed flight and I was worried that wouldn’t even happen but it did and I made it to Miami – exactly 24 hours late.

Miami - so happy to see it!

After an airport reunion, the first order of business was packet pickup.  Because of the cancelled flight, I missed the allotted hours for the expo and pickup.  Luckily when I called the race director from the snowy Memphis airport, she was very understanding and told me how and where I could pick up my race bib after hours.

Once that was secured, it was time for food!  Since the weekend was already off to such a rocky start I threw all “pre-race” expectations (plus, I didn’t have enough races under my belt at this point to really have a routine) out the window and we settled on Mexican.  It was an excellent choice – beer, chips, guacamole and ceviche on the beach were just what the wintry Memphis girl needed.  It was the first time I had ever had guacamole made right in front of me at a restaurant – I was quite impressed.

Table-Side Guac

I had to go straight to bed (after a walk on the beach of course) because the Miami race starts so early.  The 6:15AM start time is the earliest (still to this day) I’ve ever run a race.  The idea is that you finish as the sunrises (or before it gets too high in the sky).  We started at American Airlines Arena downtown.  I remember I ran with my phone to text the boy and my family updates on my run – but it was pre-iPhone days so I don’t have many photos from the run itself.

I wore my Colts-blue tank top and race skirt (remember they were playing the Saints the following weekend in Miami at the Super Bowl!).  After the first couple of miles on the course, we ran along Cruise Ship Row.  I enjoyed this part because for Spring Break 2009 I was on board one of those ships.  Those memories helped get me through the next couple of miles.

Norwegian Jewel - home of SB09!

A lot of the middle miles were spent “island hopping” – lots of bridges.

Island Hopping

Miami Bridge

(photo source)

Here’s what I remember thinking about during the race: it’s hot. nice house. spring break. post-grad plans. health corps. another nice house. super bowl. hotter. wonder what it’s like to go clubbing in Miami. Ireland memories.  diet sprite.

Part of the course

Course support was fantastic.  Plenty of water stations, about every mile.  Lots of entertainment too, not just in the form of beautiful scenery (I don’t think palm trees and beaches could ever get boring!).

Miami

At mile 10.5 I encountered the famous “cheering zone” – placed strategically to give runners of the half and full a turbo boost.  Well it certainly worked for me!  By now the sun was full up and it was probably in the 90s  70s.  I heard cowbells, cheers, whistles, air horns and those blow up boppers that fans use at basketball games to distract free-throw shooters.  It was awesome, and just enough to get me to the finish line!

Course Map

Yea - state #1!

 

If I remember correctly, the first order of business after the race was a drug store for some Advil.  My joints were sore for some reason.  And then it was immediately home for a nap.  I had to rest up for the adventure that awaited – the Pro Bowl!

Sun Life Stadium

Since the Super Bowl was the following weekend, none of my Colts were playing but we still had a fun time watching the game.

Colts-less Pro Bowl

I was not too impressed with the t-shirt but the 3-D rotating medal more than made up for it!  I pulled these out of the keepsake box for a photo-op.

Miami Memorabilia

Rotating! Also, I'm convinced that's a real diamond in the palm tree.....

It was a great first-state weekend with the boy (who was impressed enough to run it himself in 2011!) despite being cut short and I returned to Memphis completely wiped out, only to be disappointed by the Colts’ loss in the Super Bowl.

 

What a fun trip down memory lane – Happy Tuesday!

3 responses »

  1. Your recap was much cheerier than mine, which was mired by a lack of heat tolerance and a complete absence of sugar in my system. I hope you go back and recount all of your previous half marathons!

  2. I ran Miami last year, but couldn’t get down there for this year’s. I remember it being such a great race though, with a great medal! Congratulations!

  3. Pingback: My First Guest Post – Dan’s 2010 Miami experience « RUNMEM

Leave a Reply

