Kitchen Redemption

Standard

I decided to take on the kitchen again after the near-disastrous salmon attempt on the last Foodie Friday.  It was edible, but I still remain intimidated by fish.  SO today I chose two things I’m very comfortable with – chicken and the grill.  Yes, it’s January but it’s also a balmy 65 degrees in Memphis so I am taking full advantage!

I found these recipes in a Cooking Light Cookbook – 5 Ingredients, 15 Minute Recipes.

Grilled Rosemary Chicken

2 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp red wine vinegar

1 tbsp chopped fresh rosemary

1 tbsp minced garlic

4 four oz chicken breasts

  1. Combine first 4 ingredients in a large heavy-duty Ziploc bag.
  2. Add the chicken to the marinade and place in the fridge for at least 30 minutes (overnight would be best!)

    Let it marinate

  3. Prepare the grill (scrape off old food bits and char, light it, etc.)
  4. Remove the chicken from marinade and grill on each side for about 3 minutes.  I like crispiness on my chicken so I let them go a little longer!

Grilled Rosemary Chicken

I made this chicken for lunch today so chose to only have it marinate for 30 minutes.  While the flavors were soaking, I chopped some veggies to have healthy snacks all week!  Veggies with a few hardboiled egg whites are my favorite go-to (but I rarely have veggies chopped….)

Chopped Veggies

The chicken tastes great on it’s own and could easily be used on a salad or with raw veggies but I decided to make the salsa recommended by the cookbook (and I am so glad I did – delicious flavor combinations!).

Tomato-Avocado Salsa:

1.5 tsp chopped fresh oregano

1.5 tsp olive oil

1/4 tsp minced garlic

1 cup grape tomatoes, halved

1/4 cup crumbled Mediterranean style feta cheese

1/2 peeled avocado, chopped

Combine first 4 ingredients in a bowl, stirring with a whisk.  Add tomato halves, cheese and avocado and gently toss.  Makes 2 servings.

Tomato-Avocado Salsa

I threw some chopped romaine under the salsa because I need to use it up before it goes bad but the salsa is just delicious on its own!

Kitchen pride confidence is restored!

Deeeelish!

Leave a Reply

