Foodie Friday – Ginger Teriyaki Salmon and Broccoli

Standard

Tonight’s dinner was again inspired by things I had in the house.  I saw frozen salmon and knew I wanted to try my hand at another dish.  I’ve mentioned before that for some reason salmon intimidates me.  I don’t know if it’s the skin, or the fact that I never ate it growing up, or that because I’ve only ever ordered it at restaurants, my expectations are too high.

I combined the frozen salmon fillet with teriyaki sauce and ginger in a saucepan on the stove.  The directions on the back of the salmon pack said to cook 8-10 minutes, flipping halfway through.  I forgot to check the time when I first put the fillet in the pan – so from the get-go I was a little off.  The sauce caramelized to the bottom of the pan and started smoking pretty quickly (solution: turn on the overhead fan).  I flipped the salmon a few times to make sure it cooked all the way through.

Despite the mess in the pan (and smoke circling the kitchen) the end result was pretty tasty.  I added teriyaki and ginger broccoli that I sauteed while the salmon cooked, and sprinkled both with sesame seeds.

Result of the smokey mess

The salmon was so-so – need to study up on some different ways to season it.  But the broccoli…..was delicious!  Crispy, green and flavorful.  Maybe I’ll just stick to vegetables….

Green and crunchy

So for tonight the salmon wins, but I’ll be back in the kitchen ready to take it on again soon.  For now, I’m about to settle in to watch Million Dollar Baby  – how are you starting your weekend off?  

 

Leave a Reply

