Newsday Tuesday – Top Fitness Trends of 2012

Standard

Good morning!  I’m up enjoying the quiet of the morning with a cup of black tea and half of a grapefruit (one of my favorite fruits!) before I head off to some training sessions at Inside Out Gym.  It’s always a struggle to get the eyes open before 5 AM but I enjoy not feeling so rushed before my 5:30 appointments.  We’ll see how many more days I can keep this up….

Did you decide to join in on January’s Challenge?  Get moving today!  It’s only 25 degrees here so I’m trying to decide if I’ll bundle up and brave the cold, or run a few on the good old treadmill…..

A few weeks ago, I warned y’all to be on the lookout for some formatting changes.  They’re slowly starting to appear!  I’m working on the sidebars and more organized categories on the right.  I cleaned up some of the pages tabs at the top of the blog.  I also decided to help me post more often, every day of the week will have a specific theme or topic.  I’ll always (try) to post something related to that day’s theme, and then any other relevant running, fitness or life stories I want to share!  So, here’s the breakdown of how the days will go:

Motivation Mondays – quotes, reasons to run, inspirational photos or stories.  Get your week started right!

Newsday Tuesdays – health and fitness studies, running in the news, Memphis news, my life news….anything I feel like you should know!

Pack Run Wednesdays – A recap of Inside Out’s Pack run and a look into the music I’m currently running/Spinning/living to.

Thankful Thursdays – A time to pause mid-week and give a little thanks.

Foodie Fridays – My day to share new recipes with you!  It is a goal to cook a new one once a week!

Weekend Workout – Saturday I’ll share a workout I love to get you jumpstarted on the weekend fitness!

Sunday Funday – A post about whatever I want, most likely my adventures from the weekend around town.

So here we go, The First Newsday Tuesday of 2012!

Top 20 Fitness Trends of 2012

As you continue going strong in your resolutions (right?!), take a look at the top 20 fitness trends of 2012, according to the American College of Sports Medicine.  The full article found on CNN.com is well worth a quick read!  If you’re shopping around for a gym to join this year, look over the list and see which of the following trends they offer and/or support.  ACSM says that unlike fads, trends are here to stay for several years.

  1. Educated, certified and experienced fitness professionals
  2. Strength Training
  3. Fitness programs for older adults
  4. Exercise and weight loss
  5. Children and obesity
  6. Personal training
  7. Core training
  8. Group personal training
  9. ZUMBA and other dance workouts
  10. Functional Fitness
  11. Yoga
  12. Comprehensive health promotion programming at the worksite
  13. Boot Camp
  14. Outdoor activities
  15. Reaching new markets
  16. Spinning
  17. Sport-specific training
  18. Worker incentive programs
  19. Wellness coaching
  20. Physician referrals

If you’re looking for a gym in Memphis, stop by Inside Out in Midtown to say hello and check out our 14 of 20 fitness trends!  2162 Courtland Place or explore the website!


Leave a Reply

