Week 14: Run 1

Standard

Speeeeeeeeeed.   I enjoyed my rest day yesterday and was ready for my date with the treadmill this morning.   Here’s what was on the agenda for my treadmill workout at Inside Out Gym:

  • One mile warm-up
  • 5 x 1 k (400m rest interval)
  • Cool down
First of all, I don’t know why running decided to be metric…..it makes for some intense conversions for this girl…..maybe I’m a little dense but trying to figure out what the treadmill pace is for a goal of finishing 1000 m in 4:18 is hard for me……I mean, 1000 is not a mile (1600), but it’s more than half and not even quite one and a half.  Anyway – I came up with this for my workout:
  • One mile warm-up (start at 6.0 and increase by .5 mph each lap, ending on 7.5)
  • 5 x 1k @ 8.4 (7:09 pace) with 400 m walking
  • One cool down lap
Those “Ks” kicked my quads!  I didn’t think I was going to make it through the last two but I did and I’m not even ashamed to say how –  with the help of this chick:

T. Swift

 (source)

Yep.  The fairy tale pop princess saved me today.  I know she’s not known for producing go-get-em, pump-up-the-intensity power songs but something about her pushed me through.  Especially the songs Enchanted, Haunted, Sparks Fly, and Change.  I may be 24 now, but T. Swift has a way of makin’ a girl feel happy, and of course you want to feel happy while your legs are telling you STOP!!  Thanks princess.

You're welcome.

Do you have any surprising “pump you up” songs?

One response »

Leave a Reply

