Restless and First Training Run

Standard

I could not fall asleep for the life of me last night.  I was in bed early, psyched for this morning’s FIRST ST.JUDE TRAINING RUN and for a full night’s sleep.  Well, an hour later I was still awake.  30 minutes later, still not sleeping.  I know we’ve all been there but for the girl who can fall asleep anywhere, it’s extra frustrating.  I remember the first time this happened to me one summer in high school and started thinking of the strategies I used to help me fall asleep.

  • First, I would count sheep.  That required the least amount of effort.  The highest I ever made it to was 84 before my mind started to wander or I lost count (who knew one could be a bad counter?).  Does this work for anyone?!
  • When that didn’t work, I would read.  The dictionary.  You can’t read something you’re interested in, that’ll just keep you awake longer.  Last time I checked there’s nothing exciting about a dictionary and BONUS, the print is really small so that makes your eyes extra tired.
  • When that often times didn’t work, I would get a drink of water and try to fall back asleep.  The third effort included watching TV.  There’s controversy here because the glow apparently stimulates your brain but keep in mind at this point I’m getting desperate.  Not much is on late at night except infomercials and this can be dangerous.  In a sleepy haze you might be convinced that The Firm Fanny Lifter, P90X and the Snuggie are brilliant purchases…..

My first-ever fitness purchase - so long ago they were VHS! (source)

Usually I would then fall asleep on the couch or be so tired that I could just head back to bed and fall asleep.

 

Last night, I had no such luck.  I still can’t count past 84, I don’t own a dictionary and I don’t have cable so I just tossed.  Eventually though, I did fall asleep.

This morning the Pack ran 2 miles for the first official training run for the St. Jude Half Marathon on December 3.  It’s a loooooong 18 weeks away but I’m excited, and so were the participants this morning.  Everyone successfully completed the assignment despite the HOT temperatures – seriously, of course it would be the hottest day of the year on our first day!

My run today was a little different – here’s what I was supposed to do –

  • 2 miles easy, 3 miles @ 7:40 and 1 mile cool down.
And here’s what I did –
  • 1 mile warm-up, 3 miles @ hard.
Sorry I don’t have an exact pace, I left Gary at home on accident this morning….
Breakfast, a few clients and a TRX workout later, it was lunchtime!  I had some extra time this afternoon so I decided to experiment!
I’ve been trying to prepare more of my own meals ever since I committed to being a racer and decided to try a tuna burger instead of a salmon burger today.  I found this recipe from the Clean Eating website:

Ingredients

  • 1/2 can of drained tuna
  • 1/4 cup of egg whites
  • 1/2 an onion
  • 1/2 a tomato
  • 1/4 cup of sprouts
  • 1 large spoonful of flax
  • pinch of parsley
  • pinch of pepper
  • 1 Tsp of mustard
  • 2 pieces of romaine lettuce
  • 1/2 Tsp of garlic

Instructions

1. chop onions and throw in frying pan until lightly browned
2. in a bowl mix together tuna, egg whites, flax, parsley, pepper, garlic and onions
3. With hands make into a patty and put on med. heat in the frying pan
4. dice tomatos
5. Once both sides are brown, take off heat and put it on one piece of lettuce
6. Add tomatoes, mustard and sprouts on top and your other piece of lettuce

The above recipe is exactly how it appeared on the website.  I changed it a little.  I chopped the onion and threw it in the frying pan, but I added parsley and herbs de Provence to the mix.  And mushrooms – that’s right, I’m branchin’ out!  First time I’ve ever cooked with mushrooms.  Once the onions were brown, I removed most of the mushrooms and put them on my plate.  Then I combined the other ingredients as instructed and it looked like this:

Not quite a patty.....

I don’t think that looks too appetizing either.  BUT I put it back in the same skillet I sauteed the onions in (it would NOT have worked on a grill – too much egg white).  It was too liquid-y to form a patty and I began to question the recipe, but as soon as it hit the heat, the whites started to solidify and held the burger together quite nicely.  I recommend applying some pressure to the patty after flipping to get the extra liquid out.  I had a plate full of veggies waiting on the protein – half a tomato, sprouts, lettuce leaves and those mushrooms.  D.Lish.Ous.

Veggies waitin' on a burger

The flavor was great!  And the whole meal was very filling and nutritious – great for my new racing lifestyle :).  Next time I’m going to try leaving some of the mushrooms in with the onions for the patty.  Check out the big ol’ burger below!

That's lunch!

What’s the latest new recipe you’ve tried?


 

2 responses »

  1. My run this morning was a little different, too….here’s what I was supposed to do:

    – 4 miles easy with the guys and dogs…lots of starts and stops

    Here’s what we did:

    – felt the 80 degrees but saw the lightning (no rain, of course)….got back in our cars and had a coffee at Starbucks

  2. That is a big ass tuna burger! If it were 1/4 the size it would remind me of the salmon and/or tuna croquettes Nan Oat used to make. I am tempted to try it. Thanks for sharing all your recipes — fun to read!

Leave a Reply

