Race Season

Standard

As much as I’ve expressed my love for the off-season (endless hours of pleasure reading during cardio workouts, embarrassingly frequent trips to YoLo, leisurely no-pressure runs with the group and minimal time spent running in the heat = dreamland), this weekend’s Road Race Series 5k will mark the start of race season for me.  After some soul-searching, I decided that I don’t just want to run, I want to race.  I have some proving to do (mostly to myself), after I had my top-3 spot taken from me overnight in the Gibson Guitar 5k, I’ve had my sights set on another top 3 finish.  I’ve done my research – poking around on the results of the first RRS 5k last weekend and with a good effort and all the stars aligned, I think I can do it.  But I’m going to have to really adapt my lifestyle a little bit if I want to continue to place as the distances increase – and you know what? I do.

So yesterday, I started getting in the speedy mindset with this speedworkout on the treadmill!

4 mile speed workout

  • Half a lap 4.0
  • Half a lap 6.0
For the first mile and a half:
  • Full lap at faster than race pace (for me 8.6 – whoa!)
  • Half a lap 4.0
For the second mile and a quarter:
  • Full lap at faster than race pace (8.6)
  • Quarter lap 4.0
For the last mile:
        Start at a comfortable jog and increase .5 mph every half lap.  Mine looked like this:
  • Half a lap 6.0
  • Half a lap 6.5
  • Half a lap 7.0
  • Half a lap 7.5
  • Half a lap 8.0
  • Half a lap 8.5
  • Full lap 9.0
Man, I was breathin’ hard by the end!  This would be easy to adapt to your own pace and if you’re a very beginner, don’t worry about increasing speed, just alternate with a full lap running and a half lap walking!
I’m still working on creating my routine for training over the next few months in anticipation of the St. Jude Half Marathon (shooting for speed there too!).  I will say that I’ve put YoLo on a restraining order for in-season and it will only be enjoyed (and thoroughly enjoyed!) as a celebratory treat on race days.  Doesn’t mean I won’t dream of it everytime I run past it…..I’m also ditchin’ the cokes (well, Diet Sierra Mists, but midwesterners call all soft drinks cokes) in favor of water, water, water!  If I’m gonna be fast, my body needs to be fueled right!  Expect lots of recipes and food posts as I try to figure out my “fast foods”  (not to be confused with fast food) – starting with lunch!
Lunch
Lunch today was delicious leftovers from the party!  I enjoyed the broccoli slaw salad that I contributed to the potluck – almost better a few days later after all the flavors have mixed!  I found this recipe on HungryGirl’s website and modified it a little to my own taste.

Yummy leftovers- so colorful and crunchy!

Recipe:

For Salad

  • 1.5 cups uncooked whole wheat pasta (I used Rotini)
  • 2 cups broccoli slaw
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • I cup chopped red bell pepper
  • I cup chopped yellow bell pepper
  • 2 tbsp. sweet pickle relish
  • 6 hard-boiled egg whites
For Dressing
  • 1/4 c. plus 2 tbsp. Miracle Whip
  • 1/4 c. Dijon mustard
  • 1 1/2 tbsp. white vinegar
  • sprinkling of salt and black pepper to taste
  • 1 packet of splenda
Instructions –
Boil pasta and eggs.  When the pasta’s done cooking, drain it and put it in a bowl in the fridge to cool.  Then go to town choppin’ the veggies.  Next, combine all ingredients for the dressing in a bowl and mix.  Add the veggies and egg whites (after you’ve peeled them, obviously) to the cooled pasta and coat with the dressing.  Put the big bowl back in the fridge to cool – should take about an hour!  Then devour.  This recipe would be so easy to customize with other vegetables or even some extra protein like chicken or shrimp!
And with that, I’m off to an afternoon of sweaty work!  Happy Tuesday!
2 responses »

  1. Hi JJ!

    I know that you have done one race in Oregon, but we have a few more coming up and this summer has not been very hot so it might be a good break from the Memphis heat!! We have the Carter Lake Rim Run on Aug 13. It is full, half or 10K runs. The Tillamook Burn on Aug. 14th which is a 6 mile trail run. I know you want to do more trail runs! Or the Pint to Pasta on Sept 11…This is a 10K that includes beer!!! That old man you run with once in a while is welcome to join you. And Mom can come cheer with us. Just a thought!
    Love you,
    Aunt Emilie

  2. Pingback: Restless and First Training Run « RUNMEM

Leave a Reply

