Motivation Monday

Standard

It’s pretty obvious that motivation is needed to get through a training program leading up to an event.  But what about when you’re in the middle of that event?  In the 77 degree heat.  At mile 6 when you’re not quite halfway.  With no water station in sight.  I saw some pretty inspiring (and sometimes hilarious) motivational posters yesterday during the Chicago Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon and now I’ll share them with you!

  • There will come a day when you can no longer do this.  Today is not that day.
  • Do epic shit.
  • Your feet hurt from kicking so much ass.
  • Pain now.  Beer and bacon later.  (Or in my case, tequila and cupcakes…)
  • Nice ass – that didn’t happen overnight.

A few things to note – when you’re in the middle of a big race, cussing is almost a necessity (and seems to help diffuse the pain).  And things are much funnier when you’re hungry, hot and have 8 miles to go but anything that can make you smile is appreciated!

What’s your favorite motivational slogan – either listed above or that you’ve seen somewhere else?

The Olympics start this week!

Just 4 days to go!

8 responses »

  1. I did like the “beer and bacon” one…the signs that are for someone in memory or suffering from illness or injury are pretty inspiring, too.

  2. “If I have the belief that I can do it, I shall surely acquire the capacity to do it even if I may not have it at the beginning.”
    –Gandhi

    One of my mom’s that repeats in my head, “Can’t never did anything”

  3. Oh BTW I noticed that Lululemon has a half in Vancouver called SeaWheeze that takes place in August. How cool would it be to run that race?

Leave a Reply

